1817 - Lysons, Daniel - Magna Britannia (1)

From International Robin Hood Bibliography
Date 1817
Author Lysons, Daniel; Lysons, Samuel
Title Magna Britannia
Mentions Robin Hood's Stride (Harthill)
Loading map...
Robin Hood's Stride.

By Henrik Thiil Nielsen, 2020-06-17. Revised by Henrik Thiil Nielsen, 2021-01-07.


The scenery of the gritstone district is by no means beautiful or agreeable, except in the valleys above noticed [i.e. 'Matlock Dale, Monsal Dale, Middleton Dale, Eyam Dale, and Dove Dale']; it consists chiefly of dreary moors, on some parts of which large masses and groups of rock are seen projecting on the surface, some of them in very grotesque forms. The most remarkable of these groups of gritstone rock are, those on Stanton-Moor, called Robinhood's stride, or Mock-beggar hall, and Rowtor rocks.[1]

IRHB comments

Only six volumes of the Lyson brothers' lavishly illustrated topographical work Magna Britannia were published. Extrapolating from them it is a fair guess that the total number of volumes for all of Britain would have run to seventy or eighty volumes. The first volume was published in 1806. When engraver Samuel Lysons died in 1819, five volumes, covering eight counties between them, had been published. His grief-stricken brother Daniel after some years managed to have the sixth volume – covering Devon – published in 1822, but unfortunately no more appeared.